Conservation Areas and Listed Buildings are now extensively recognised for the historic interest.

The Council's Heritage Specialists, working within Planning, assist to make sure that new development in Conservation Areas is in line with local and national planning policies.

What is a Conservation Area?

Conservation Areas are areas that are considered to be of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance.

The special character of a Conservation area does not only come from its buildings. Other elements are also important, including:

  • The historic layout of paths, roads and boundaries
  • Characteristic materials used in buildings, paving and street furniture
  • The character and layout of spaces, and the "mix" of uses for example, houses, shops and public houses.
  • Vistas and viewpoints along streets and between buildings

Why is a Conservation Area important?

  • Conservation Area designation gives the Council greater powers to control development and changes within a conservation area, so that we can preserve or enhance their special character
  • The idea is not to prevent development but to make sure that any changes are sympathetic to the special architectural and historic character of the area. This is particularly important in terms of scale, design, materials and the space between buildings.

How do Conservation Areas affect planning permission?

Additional planning controls apply to Conservation Areas, and Planning Consent may be required for works such as:

  • Demolition of all or part of a building or structure (including walls, chimneys and outhouses)
  • Minor developments - including alterations to roofs or the cladding of buildings
  • Tree works- cutting, uprooting, lopping or topping of trees
  • Installation of satellite dishes

The following Conservation Areas have been designated in West Devon:

  • Bere Alston
  • Bere Ferrers
  • Bondleigh
  • Bratton Clovelly
  • Bridestowe
  • Broadwoodkelly
  • Buckland Monachorum
  • Chagford
  • Crockernwell
  • Drewsteignton
  • Eworthy
  • Exbourne
  • Germansweek
  • Hatherleigh
  • Horrabridge
  • Lamerton
  • Lifton
  • Lydford
  • Mary Tavy
  • Meavy
  • Milton Abbot
  • Milton Combe
  • Muchington
  • North Brentor
  • Northlew
  • North Tawton
  • Okehampton
  • Princetown
  • Sampford Courtenay
  • South Tawton
  • South Zeal
  • Sticklepath
  • Stowford
  • Tavistock - Bere Alston Railway
  • Tavistock
  • Throwleigh
  • Walkhampton
  • Weir Quay
  • Whitchurch