Here you will find information on Town and Parish Councils in West Devon and the responsibilities of the clerk of each council.

West Devon has forty six town and parish councils.  Each of them employs a clerk to:-

  • Carry out policy decisions made by the Council.
  • Be the chief administration officer who is responsible for seeing that the business of the Council runs smoothly and in accordance with the laws and procedure rules.
  • Be responsible for managing the financial transactions of the Council and keeping appropriate records.
  • Carry out all clerical and secretarial tasks for their Council.

The forty six town and parish councils are broken down into thirty six parish councils, five grouped parishes (Burrator, Exbourne & JacobstoweLewdown, Milton Abbot and Plasterdown),  one parish meeting (Kelly), and four town councils (HatherleighNorth TawtonOkehampton and Tavistock).

To find your relevant Parish Clerk for your local Town or Parish Council, please select from the list below.